August Wilson

Three Plays

Few things in publishing can be called a coup. This is. . . . A handsome, must-have volume of August Wilson's first major plays.

Includes Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Fences, and Joe Turner’s Come and Gone. Afterword by Paul C. Harrison.This collection features Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, voted Best Play of 1984-85 by the New York Drama Critics’ Circle, Fences, winner of the 1987 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and Joe Turner’s Come and Gone, voted Best Play of 1987-88 by the New York Drama Critics’ Circle.

336 Pages, 6 x 9 in.

June, 1991

isbn : 9780822936664

about the author

August Wilson was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and grew up in a two-room apartment behind a grocery store on Bedford Avenue in the city’s Hill District. At age thirty-three he moved to St. Paul, Minnesota, where he turned to play writing. In addition to the plays presented in August Wilson, he is the author of The Piano Lesson—the 1990 Pulitzer Prize winner for drama.

learn more
August Wilson