The Great Poetry Giveaway

The Great Poetry Giveaway

The Great Poetry Giveaway

We’re giving away 50 poetry books! Enter to win.


Pitt Poetry Series is celebrating its 50th Anniversary—and we’re giving you the gifts!


Ten lucky poetry fans will get their pick of any five Pitt poetry books in print.


Stop by our booth (355) at the 2017 AWP conference in Washington, DC (February 8-11) and sign up OR enter your info on the entry form below. Contest ends on February 28, 2017 at 11:59pm.

Five winners will be chosen from the AWP entries and five winners will be chosen from the online entries.

The ten winners will receive an email notification by March 31, 2017 along with instructions on how to claim their prize.

Disclaimer: University of Pittsburgh employees are not eligible for this prize. By entering this giveaway you are allowing us to email you with information about our Pitt Poetry Series, including new books, brochures, and promotions. You can opt-out at any time.

Enter to win five free poetry books

* indicates required

To complete the entry process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.


Pitt Poetry Series2017 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the Pitt Poetry Series. Since its inception in 1967, the Pitt Poetry Series has been a vehicle for America’s finest contemporary poets. The series list includes Inaugural Poet Richard Blanco, Poet Laureate Billy Collins, Toi Derricotte, Denise Duhamel, Lynn Emanuel, Ross Gay, Etheridge Knight, Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize winner Ted Kooser, Larry Levis, Sharon Olds, Alicia Suskin Ostriker, Afaa Michael Weaver, David Wojahn, Dean Young, and many others.

Throughout its history, the Pitt Poetry Series has provided a voice for the diversity that is American poetry, representing poets from many backgrounds without allegiance to any one school or style. Beginning in 1978, Ed Ochester has been the editor and creative force behind the series.

Ed Ochester Pitt Poetry SeriesEd Ochester is a former director of the creative writing program at the University of Pittsburgh, and is professor emeritus of English there. Ochester is a core faculty member of the Bennington College MFA Writing Seminars, has twice served as president of the Association of Writers & Writing Programs, where he received the George Garrett Award for Outstanding Community Service in Literature. He is the author of numerous poetry collections including Sugar Run Road, Unreconstructed: Poems Selected and New, The Republic of Lies, and edited American Poetry Now.