Pitt Poetry Series Announces Fall 24 Lineup

Pitt Poetry Series Announces Fall 24 Lineup

Pitt Poetry Series Announces Fall 24 Lineup

The Pitt Poetry Series at the University of Pittsburgh Press upholds a tradition of publishing distinguished contemporary poetry. The series is honored to continue that tradition in the Fall 2024 with the following collections:  

  • Dragstripping by Jan Beatty (on sale September 3, 2024) 
  • Still City by Oksana Maksmychuk (on sale November 5, 2024) 
  • Querida by Nathan Xavier Osorio, winner of the 2024 Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize (on sale September 10, 2024) 
  • Absent Here by Bret Shepard, winner of the 2023 Donald Hall Prize for Poetry (on sale October 8, 2024) 
  • Purchase by Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon (on sale October 8, 2024)
  • Winner of the 2024 Cave Canem Poetry Prize (announcement forthcoming)

Terrance Hayes, Nancy Krygowski, and Jeffrey McDaniel, Pitt Poetry Series co-editors share that, the breadth of lived experience in this fall’s list thrills us. From two quintessential Pitt poets, the fiercely brilliant, highly lyrical Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon and the deep-feeling, gritty Jan Beatty to Ukrainian-American poet Oksana Maksymchuk, whose poems document the start of the war against Ukraine, to newcomers Nathan Osorio and Bret Shepard, this season represents an exploration of the poetic world through a range of distinctive, exciting voices. We are very proud of all of them.”  

About the Pitt Poetry Series 

Since its inception in 1967, the Pitt Poetry Series has been a vehicle for the finest contemporary poets. Throughout its history, the series has provided a voice for the diversity that is American poetry, representing poets from many backgrounds without allegiance to any one school or style.  

Terrance Hayes’s poetry collections include American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin, finalist for the National Book Award; How to Be Drawn, finalist for the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award; Lighthead, winner of the National Book Award and finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award; and Wind in a Box, finalist for the Hurston-Wright Legacy Award, among others. Hayes is currently professor of English at New York University. 

Nancy Krygowski’s book Velocity won the Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize in 2006, and her most recent poetry collection is The Woman in the Corner. She teaches poetry at Carnegie Mellon University and in Carlow University’s Madwomen in the Attic program. 

Jeffrey McDaniel is the author of six books of poetry, most recently Holiday in the Islands of Grief. Other books include Chapel of Inadvertent Joy, The Endarkenment, The Splinter Factory, The Forgiveness Parade, and Alibi School. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College and lives in the Hudson Valley.